D20Board00286-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Mason E. Smith - Board Member


Mason E. Smith is currently a member of the board of trustees of the Colorado Hospital Association, a member of the St Mary-Corwin Hospital Board of Trustees and a member of the board and executive committee of the Denver Council on Foreign Relations.  He is the former chairman of the board for Penrose-St Francis Hospital Services, former CEO for the Sisters of St. Francis of Colorado Springs, Inc. and a retired US Army Colonel.

D20Board00291-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Christine Palmer - Board Member

Chris Palmer has served on the Board of Directors since 2003.  She taught English at Air Academy High School for 36 years and is passionate about continuing to serve and support both students and teachers through the programs of the Education Foundation.  As an educational consultant for College Board, she gives workshops for educators throughout the United States.  In addition, she is a Manager with SendOutCards and works with businesses to help develop their relationship marketing.

D20Board00300-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Jeanette Van Doren - Board Member

 Jeanette Van Doren has lived in the D20 community since 1973. She has two children who graduated from AAHS.  She served on the D20 Board of Education from 1989-2001.  In 1992, Superintendent Dr. Thomas Crawford formed the Foundation.  In 1999, while still serving on the BOE, Jeanette was asked to actively serve and revive the Foundation.   She has organized and hosted the D20 Education Foundation Golf tournament for 17 years.  She believes in high-quality education for all students and works hard raising money for the Foundation to give back to the classroom and students.  Under her leadership and guidance, the Foundation has raised approximately $50K a year since 2003.  

D20Board00297-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Glenn Strebe - Board President

Glenn has served on the D20 Education Foundation for over 15 years and also serves on the D20 Board of Education.  He has worked at Air Academy Federal Credit Union since 1993 and prior to that was in the US Air Force.  He earned his MBA from Colorado State University and his BS from the US Air Force Academy.  Married to Terri (Rampart HS graduate), they have two grown children (D20 schools from K-12). In his spare time you can find him reading, spending time with his family, or training for long bike rides or triathlons.

D20Board00306-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Dr. Mark Hatchell - Board Member

Dr. Mark Hatchell began his duties as superintendent of Academy School District 20 in July 2007. He graduated from Colorado State University in 1982 where he earned his bachelor's degree in Business Administration. He earned his master's degree from CSU in 1985 and did his doctoral studies at the University of Colorado - Boulder/Denver and earned his Doctoral Degree in 1989.  Dr. Hatchell started his public education career as a student teacher at Air Academy High School in 1983.  

D20Board00286-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Alan Klayton - Board Member

Alan Klayton is a retired Air Force officer. Prior to joining the District 20 Education Foundation in 2008 he served as the US Air Force Academy liaison to the School District 20 Board of Education for 18 years. His two children are graduates of Air Academy High School. 

D20Board00294-Edit_preview (Mobile).jpeg

Mary Lou Sherwood - Board Member

Mary Lou Sherwood was Administrative Assistant to five Superintendents in Academy District 20 prior to her retirement in 2010. She and her husband have four children that graduated from Rampart High School. Mary Lou loves being a part of the D20 Education Foundation Board, which always focuses on ‘good things happening in the classrooms of Academy 20 for students and staff’ through the benevolence of the Foundation.